Hosted by Michael Barbaro

Featuring Zolan Kanno-Youngs

Produced by Mooj ZadieAlex Stern and Shannon M. Lin

Edited by Patricia Willens

Original music by Elisheba Ittoop and Dan Powell

Engineered by Chris Wood

Listen and follow The DailyApple Podcasts | Spotify | Amazon Music | YouTube

For half a century, the federal government has treated marijuana as one of the more dangerous drugs in the United States. On Tuesday, the Biden administration signaled a significant shift in approach.

Zolan Kanno-Youngs, a White House correspondent for The Times, explains how big an impact the proposed changes could have.

On today’s episode

Zolan Kanno-Youngs, a White House correspondent for The New York Times.


Any alteration in the rules governing marijuana use will still face a long road before taking effect, including being subject to public comment.Credit…Steve Helber/Associated Press

Background reading

The Biden administration’s effort to liberalize marijuana policy comes as increasingly more Americans favor legalizing the drug.

After the recommendation to ease restrictions, Democrats in the Senate reintroduced legislation to legalize marijuana.

There are a lot of ways to listen to The Daily. Here’s how.

We aim to make transcripts available the next workday after an episode’s publication. You can find them at the top of the page.

The Daily is made by Rachel Quester, Lynsea Garrison, Clare Toeniskoetter, Paige Cowett, Michael Simon Johnson, Brad Fisher, Chris Wood, Jessica Cheung, Stella Tan, Alexandra Leigh Young, Lisa Chow, Eric Krupke, Marc Georges, Luke Vander Ploeg, M.J. Davis Lin, Dan Powell, Sydney Harper, Mike Benoist, Liz O. Baylen, Asthaa Chaturvedi, Rachelle Bonja, Diana Nguyen, Marion Lozano, Corey Schreppel, Rob Szypko, Elisheba Ittoop, Mooj Zadie, Patricia Willens, Rowan Niemisto, Jody Becker, Rikki Novetsky, John Ketchum, Nina Feldman, Will Reid, Carlos Prieto, Ben Calhoun, Susan Lee, Lexie Diao, Mary Wilson, Alex Stern, Dan Farrell, Sophia Lanman, Shannon Lin, Diane Wong, Devon Taylor, Alyssa Moxley, Summer Thomad, Olivia Natt, Daniel Ramirez and Brendan Klinkenberg.

Our theme music is by Jim Brunberg and Ben Landsverk of Wonderly. Special thanks to Sam Dolnick, Paula Szuchman, Lisa Tobin, Larissa Anderson, Julia Simon, Sofia Milan, Mahima Chablani, Elizabeth Davis-Moorer, Jeffrey Miranda, Renan Borelli, Maddy Masiello, Isabella Anderson and Nina Lassam.

 The U.S. government has recommended easing federal restrictions on the drug that have been in place for decades.  Read More